Getting a driver's license is a pretty monumental step for a teenager. The ability to drive gives a feeling of independence which is something all teens desire. Unfortunately, this small step toward independence places them at risk of being involved in car accidents which, according to statistics, are a leading cause teenage deaths in Georgia.
According to statistics provided on the Georgia Department of Driver Services webpage, well over 3,000 drivers between the ages of 15 and 20-year-old were killed in automobile accidents across the country in 2008. In that same year, and again on a national level, approximately 350,000 individuals in the same age group suffered injuries in car accidents. Inexperience behind the wheel is often considered a factor in these collisions. While all accidents can't be avoided, many can be prevented with proper driver's training, enforcement of teenage driving laws and modeling of safe driving behavior by parents or guardians.
As driving is a privilege that comes with great responsibility, Georgia has certain laws in place specifically for teenage drivers regarding training programs, school attendance and license suspension. Joshua's Law sets certain guidelines for driver's education that must be met before a class D license can be obtained, which include completing a minimum of 40 hours of supervised driving and completion of a driver's training course. In order to maintain that license, school attendance requirements must also be satisfied.
The state of Georgia takes teenage driving seriously and has put certain standards in place to help protect these young drivers. Unfortunately, car accidents do happen, some caused by teenage drivers and some by more experienced drivers. In either case, if negligence is believed to have contributed to the accident, legal action -- by way of personal injury or wrongful death claims -- may be pursued in order to seek financial relief for any damages sustained.
Source: dds.ga.gov, "Teen Drivers", , Oct. 5, 2014